PDA

View Full Version : 'Normal' EGT Temp for stock 6.5TD?

dondandd
10-11-2007, 13:21
Hello,
I'm fairly new to the 6.5l TD engine, and diesels in general. But I've owned my 97 Burb 6.5TD for a few months now. I've been preparing to tow with it, and plan to tow about 5500 lbs with it this weekend. In prep for that, I installed an EGT gauge last weekend. It's an Autometer gauge, rated up to 1600 deg. F, and I installed it pre-turbo by drilling and tapping the manifold thru the pass. wheel well (yes, with engine running).

Today so far has given my best indication of running temps, as I was pulling my 1500 lb trailer up some hills in Connecticut. It seems that on relatively flat ground, with minimal throttle to maintain about 50 mph, EGTs ran about 500 deg. F. Up slight inclines, they would rise to between 600-800 deg. F. However, pulling up so steep grades, and trying to maintain 50 mph could easily produce temps in the 1200-1300 def. F range!! This truck is essentially stock, minus the catalytic converter (because it was stolen, and I replaced it with a straight pipe for the moment).

Is this normal for a stock truck? Based on my reading of the forum and other sources, I thought that the max 'continuous' temps you could run were about 1250 deg. F. This has me wondering how the truck will do once I add another 4000 lbs behind it, and try to start lugging in up the hills in Pennsylvania. If I really need to keep the temps down in the 1250 range up hills, I wonder just how slow I will be forced to go.

If I had been completely naive to EGT temps in diesels, and gone with the assumption that "you can't damage a stock truck", would I be looking at disaster if kept on it up hills and let the temp climb to 1300, or maybe more??

Sorry for the long post. I'd appreciate any advice or personal experience. I'd like my first trip with the truck to have a happy ending, and not end with a tow truck!
Thanks,
Don.

More Power
10-11-2007, 21:12