PDA

View Full Version : New engine questions

rtarh2o
10-24-2007, 09:55
I am new to the 6.2 diesel. I just bought a military take-out and am in the process of installing it into my 94 Toyota Land Cruiser. I have a couple questions. In the photo below there are some arrows. One is to a tube running along the front of the engine. It goes up under the intake and exits towards the rear of the engine, what is this? Next are the two wires towards the rear of the passenger side head, and third is the arrow pointing to the large nut with and electrical connection on top of the coolant tube. There are also 2 threaded fittings above the oil filter on the other side of the block, I have seen pictures and these seem to go to an oil cooler, is this an engine oil cooler? If so do I need a separate cooler besides the transmission cooler? These engines seem very simple, just never seen one before! Can't wait to get familiar with it.
Thanks in advance for the information, any other insight into what I need to do for the conversion would be appreciated.
Rusty

DmaxMaverick
10-24-2007, 10:28
Sometimes it's hard to tell, depending on the application it came from. I'll take a stab at it.

The lines at the front/right of the engine (looking from the flywheel forward) are fuel lines. The larger goes over the engine from the tank to the mechanical fuel lift pump, or filter inline on the way to the LP (not installed on your engine). It will be similar to the standard SBC pump. The smaller line goes to the IP, or to a filter, then to the IP, depending on application and Y/M. Ideally, you should have a primary fuel filter (10-30 micron) before the pump, and a secondary filter (2-10 micron) between the lift pump and IP. The filter assy's should be heated below 40°F. Lots of options, look to the aftermarket for commercial type filters. Racor, CAT, etc. They're all good. The filter assy's that use industry standard elements are best. Usually cheaper and more readily available.