PDA

View Full Version : 95' cheyenne 6.5 problems :( lots....

cheyenne1500
11-29-2007, 18:27
Hi guys! Well i have a 95 cheyenne with 120xxxkm..not too much i'd say. I'm pretty new to deisels but i've been doing some research. Anyways here my problem...Higher than normal fuel consumption, running rich (more black smoke than usual). But heres where it gets weired....when the oil temp is up to operating range the eng starts running really funny. Low power, struggles to go more than 50 mp/h or 80km/h. At idel the rpm will drop sometimes like a cyl is not firing. When under braking the rpm goes back to idel-ish but surges up to 11-1200 3 or 4 times while under braking. AND when feathering throttle while crusing it knocks like crazy and under full throttle, but not accel. None of this happens while the eng is still warming up. I've just replaced the lift pump and fuel filter...it fixed the problems for a week but now they back!!!!!

Also i think the thing on the turbo side valve cover its the pcv valve i think its spitting alot of oil in to the compressor, and there is about a 1/8 -1/4 inch coating of black sooty crap all in the intake and down into the head and valves. But ya i've got some work to do :(:(

tommac95
11-29-2007, 20:58
>Also i think the thing on the turbo side valve cover its the pcv valve i think its spitting alot of oil in to the compressor, and there is about a 1/8 -1/4 inch coating of black sooty crap all in the intake and down into the head and valves.

Keep in mind , but leave for now... you have other priorities!

>I've just replaced the lift pump and fuel filter...it fixed the problems for a week but now they back