PDA

View Full Version : turbo sensor

copcarguyP71
01-07-2008, 15:51
Hi everybody newbie here but have owned our '99 diesel suburban since 2001. Wife got home tonight and said the check engine light was on. I read the comuter and it kicked out the following.

Turbo/supercharger
Boost sensor A Ckt
Rng/perform

Can anyone tell me what this is, cause, repair or troubleshooting? We had the injector pump done in December and I changed the vacuum pump in december as well. I do not think the vacuum would have anything to do with it but I am willing to learn on this one. Thanks fer lookin!:confused:

copcarguyP71
01-07-2008, 16:02
Also if it helps the specific code was P0236

Robyn
01-07-2008, 16:21
Possible wastegate solenoid issues and or vacuum issues to the solenoid or the wastegate.

Check the vacuum pump to be sure of good steady vacuum (26 inches and steady at the pump)
be sure the lines to and from the pump, wategate, solenoid (On LH VC near the rear) and wastegate actuator are good.
If all is well there then suspect the solenoid.
Could also be a possible fault with the boost sensor on the air plenum.

Hope this helps

Robyn

copcarguyP71
01-07-2008, 16:27
be sure the lines to and from the pump, wategate, solenoid (On LH VC near the rear) and wastegate actuator are good.
If all is well there then suspect the solenoid.
Could also be a possible fault with the boost sensor on the air plenum.

Hope this helps

Robyn

LH (ok left hand)...VC? ya lost me on that one.

copcarguyP71
01-07-2008, 17:03
OK so I think I pulled the hose connection at the solenoid...drivers side toward rear under the plastic bonnet. I do not have a vacuum gauge but it seems like it has a good bit of suction on the orange hose coming from the pump. I am not sure what the next troubleshooting procedure would be but I cleared the code and I will wait to see if it comes back. Ny further info is certainly appreciated.

a5150nut
01-07-2008, 21:03
LH (ok left hand)...VC? ya lost me on that one.