PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a new mechanic?

JetBoater
04-19-2008, 08:14
I am having a new 6.5 installed at my local shop. I provided the shop with a brand new DB2-4911 injection pump... which came in a sealed bag within a shipping carton.

I stopped by yesterday to see how the install was going, and noticed a machined plunger with a spring attached to it.. in bag from the injection pump.

I "freeked-out" a little. I told the mechanic this should have been installed on the front of the pump before he installed it. Am I right? Can it be installed through the oil tube filler hole... through the gear? Is it a press fit? Do you loctite to hold it in?

See picture:
http://i97.photobucket.com/albums/l240/jetboater/Diesels/4911InjectionPump009.jpg

I am a competent home mechanic... and always do my homework... it is distressing to have to look over my mechanic's shoulders. Can anyone advise?
Mike

JetBoater
04-19-2008, 08:20
This is what I see on the web... and the part in question is shown at the front of the pump.

arveetek
04-19-2008, 09:50
That part floats in the hole on the front of the IP. It can fall out if you're not careful when installing the IP. The spring goes in behind the pin, so that the spring is pushing the pin out towards the front of the IP.

I'm not sure you can install it through the oil fill hole. The hole is above the center of the pump, and is only large enough to access the gear to IP bolts. You might have to remove the water pump and front cover to gain enough access.

Do be honest, I've never been sure what that doohickey was for....

Casey

DmaxMaverick
04-19-2008, 10:08