PDA

View Full Version : NO vacuume but still need to drive

mobilevet
06-02-2008, 07:26
According to my checking, I've got no vacuum from my vac pump.

This means that my turbo wastegate will NOT OPEN?? right?

Can I still drive it safely if I just go easy 55-65 mph and do not towing?

Should I try to open up the wastegate a little by pulling back on the current linkage and somehow getting it to stay there??

I have a Heath Turbomaster on the way, but it will be a couple days until it gets here... once it does the vac pump is scrap, I already have a 101" belt.

Thanks.

DmaxMaverick
06-02-2008, 08:31
No vacuum means the wastegate will NOT CLOSE, and you'll have no boost. You'd be better off if you wire the wastegate closed, and drive conservatively. No boost will waste fuel and dramatically increase EGT's, even at moderate loads, like highway driving. If you don't have gages (boost and EGT), it's a crap shoot either way. One thing to consider, from an engine protection point, is the PCM will reduce fuel if you have overboost (and set the SES), but will do nothing for over-temperature (except let the engine cook until it quits).

mobilevet
06-02-2008, 09:29
Oh, brother.... I must have misread this article (http://www.thedieselpage.com/features/boostact.htm). I thought that the wastegate held the gate closed thereby giving boost and then pulling the gate open to relieve the boost pressures... okay - I was wrong.

So, as the wastegate actuator sits now (say the truck is not running) it is in the OPEN position (therefore NO boost), so I need to pull back on the rod and somehow hold it in that position so that the gate is CLOSED and there is boost.... then worst case it over-boosts and the PMD defuels until I stop, turn off the motor to reset it, and then I should be able to crank back up.

That right?

mobilevet
06-02-2008, 09:38
BTW - During all this loss of vacuum I have had ZERO smoke... is that to be expected???

mobilevet
06-02-2008, 10:05