PDA

View Full Version : Hesitation while running A/C...

wcialrlter
06-09-2008, 19:48
I'm new to the 6.5's, so bear with me...

2000 3500 Van with 6.5 and autotrans

When running the A/C it likes to hesitate throughout rpm range. Only does it when running the air conditioning and I can't feel any sign of it when it's off.

Just changed the fuel filter and tested lift pump pressure at the the water drain-off port. Even with a little fuel leaking (just a drop here and there) it still showed slightly over 3psi.

Just want to make sure there's not something obvious wrong before I go through the normal routine of checking things...

Any thoughts?

rhsub
06-09-2008, 22:23
This hesitation your feeling sounds like it may be the A/C compressor turning off and on
check this by manually turning a/c on and off and see if feeling is the same, if so your A/C is likley low on refrigerant. Is it blowing cold air (40 to 45' F) A/C on max, fan on low, engine on high idle 1000+ rpm, at centre dash vent
is compressor cycling on and off a lot
Let us know
Ron

wcialrlter
06-10-2008, 12:47
I can feel the pump kick on...it actually seems quite drastic...it'll slow down pretty good...I've never had one have that much of an effect on a motor.

This hesitation can be felt pretty consistantly when pulling a hill but as soon as you turn off the A/C it seems to run great.

Also at 60mph or so it likes to buck, in and out of fuel almost, but again, only when the A/C is on.

mobilevet
06-10-2008, 18:22