PDA

View Full Version : Trying to Figure out where to start for conversion

DrumminStewey
06-25-2008, 17:45
Alright, I am a real beginner because I know very little about cars. I am although into environmental causes and wish to turn my automatic gas car into a biodiesel running car. First step in that is to convert to a Diesel engine. I have a 2002 Dodge Neon and am curious of websites, forums, phone numbers, of places in the New Jersey area who I could look into finding a Diesel engine to fit my car. Price is important because it has to be relatively cheap. I would appreciate any input and suggestions and will be asking many questions as this goes on. Thank you in advance for any help.

JeepSJ
06-25-2008, 18:59
You will want to start with a relatively small diesel. Something along the lines of a VW or maybe a Mercedes. A conversion is not going to be "cheap", especially if it is done correctly. You need to pay for the engine, plus adapters for the engine to transmission, engine mounts, exhaust fabrication, fuel system modifications, electrical system modifications, etc...

Are you planning to do the work yourself or have a shop do it?

When you say "biodiesel", are you talking about refined WVO, straight WVO, Bio from a retailer?

DrumminStewey
06-25-2008, 19:26
well biodiesel is my first desire because i believe it requires no additional tanks in order to use it so i can pour diesel in the same tank with it no problem. Im correct right? as far as work goes i hope to do it on my own (with the help of my brother and possible additional but still avoiding expensive shop issues) I have talked with my brother and he has stated that its possible the transmission and such could be kept if a compatible engine was found whether that would be common I am not sure but would be amazing if possible. Thank you for your response hope i answered your questions.

AKMark
06-25-2008, 20:24