PDA

View Full Version : How to remove and replace

unhookinghawk
07-25-2008, 12:03
Hey I've got a 94 turbo 4x4 that I just found out that I need to replace the engine. Does any one know where that I can either help getting the engine in and out without alot of probem. Or a site that I can get information that I can get information that I can print out.

Thanks
Ralph

fastboat
08-08-2008, 19:45
Ralph,
I am not a pro, but very mechanically inclined. I had a bad head gasket and didn't want to pay the 2 grand to have it done. Long story short, after I had everything off for the gasket job, I decided to keep going and pulled it. I bought a Haynes manual, and got an online subscription to alldatadiy.com, and asked lots of questions/ did lots of searching here and on other boards. I googled for pictures. There is a ridiculous amount of small brackets and different sized bolts/ studs on the engine and components. I thought I was being good about labeling things, and when it came to reinstall I had a big puzzle in my hands! I am now about to re-pull the engine for the second time because of a stupid problem. I am getting a real education on this, but unfortunately for me that is not what I need or want right now. I just want the damn thing done and running, but I'm still far from that. So yes, it can be done, but you must be VERY METHODICAL about your disassembly and organization of parts to help your reinstall go smoothly. Depending on what your problem is and what you want to spend, you may want to consider a new complete engine that you can just drop in.