PDA

View Full Version : Potential trouble, heading to a dealer next thus. Appreciate any advice

Ob1Cnob
08-08-2008, 16:40
I recently bought a 2002 GMC duramax. The only mod it had was a K & N air intake. It has only 69,000 mile on it. The entire unit from chasis to engine to interior is spotless. So my guess is that it was not used much. Not even one oil leak. Upon recieving my truck I had the following done: Oil and filter change, cleaned K & N, changed both differetntials, fuel filter change, transmission pan and screw on filter and fluid change, transfer case change, new shocks.
I am new to diesels, but to me the truck ran "as new". After reading much on line I decided to install a full 4" exhaust system from Summit. It is basically a stright through pipe with a small glass pack. I must say my truck was one of the few that had a catalytic converter.
My Questions:
1 - After installing the exhaust, I immediately noticed a VERY strong pungent smell of diesel fuel. I assumed it was because the catylitic converter was no longer on the truck. I can't even enjoy a drive through meal without blowing out my occupants. Could putting my cat back on solve this or was it just masking a problem?
2 - My next mod was to install a program. I tried the predator, but it would not recognize my trucks "program" for lack of better terms. So I bought a hypertech and went for stage 3. Loved the additional power, but now I noticed white smoke at idle. SO, I went back to my factory program. Now though, I still get white smoke at idle once in a while. Maybe after flooring it and loading up the truck. The white smoke is not continuous. Any ideas?
There is no knock as of now, but I'd rather be preventitive. I have made an appointment to have my truck diagnosed. It still falls under GM's warrentee, 7-100,000. Any idea if:
- They will fault me for removing the catylitic converter and blame that for my problems? Should I put it back on before going to service?