PDA

View Full Version : Metal Flakes

DIESEL5
11-14-2008, 03:12
Is it normal to have metal flakes in the oil filter, I cut the old one open and looked at it and found some tiny metal flakes on the filter (paper) two of my buddies say its normal but i have a lot of reservations about it being normal. I think i have a spun bearing somewhere but they both seem to think to the contrary and one of them is diesel mechanic by trade and the other is also a mechanic but not for diesels. Oil pressure drops to ten psi on the mechanical gauge when the engine is at temp of 210 degrees and with dash gauge it goes down to just before the red lines at idle and the check gauges light comes on. At 2000 rpm the oil pressure holds steady 28 to 30 psi on the mechanical gauge. Just did a head job a little more than a month ago and the thing was running great for about three weeks, put a new oil pressure sending unit in after the mechanical gauge check and still same problem. Gonna pull the valve covers back off to check for possible bent pushrods and broken nylon retainers since i didn t replace them after that its on to the oil pump and if that doesn t solve the problems then i guess it has to come out for a complete rebuild. Any way if some body can answer the metal flake question that would be great Thanks

More Power
11-14-2008, 12:07
An engine oil analysis will tell you where the metal is coming from...

Jim

Nobby
11-14-2008, 20:28
Definitely metal, do they stick to a magnet?

cheers
Nobby

simon
11-14-2008, 23:44
it sounds like the babbit is flaking of the brg shells ,how many miles on the mill?
i would'nt wait to long to investigate the origin. babbit flakes are non magnetic.

DIESEL5
11-15-2008, 01:11
165000 miles, didnt check with a magnet yet i just assumed they were metal cause they are shiny

Nobby
11-15-2008, 06:07