PDA

View Full Version : Alternator operating delay

EVIL X
11-26-2008, 12:34
I have a 2008 DuraMax 2500HD that I purchased in March. During colder temps.,usually freezing or below, my alternator gauge shows approximately 12vdc , too low for charging. Charging voltage should be 14.5vdc. After about 3 min. the voltage rises to an acceptable level. I haven't confronted my dealer about this yet. With my previous DuraMax, a 2002 2500HD, the alternator ,in colder temps. took approx. 1 min. to come up to an acceptable charging level. The dealer I purchased it from told me that it was an inherent characteristic of that type of heavy duty charging system. All this said, my trucks are running on the batteries until the alternator starts to charge. I'm somewhat of a backyard mechanic, having taken auto mechanics at a technical school, and an IBEW electrician by trade. Can someone give me a better explanation of what's going on here?

DmaxMaverick
11-26-2008, 12:54
What you are seeing is completely normal. During a cold startup, the glow plugs and intake heater draw a lot of current. The "after glow" cycle is longer on later vehicles, thanks to the EPA. The goal is to get combustion temps up as soon as possible to reduce cold start emission output. Add to that, the PCM controlled voltage regulation, which can vary the voltage output at any given time, depending on the state of the PCM inputs.