PDA

View Full Version : New Member Intro and noob questions

Steelkilt
12-05-2008, 09:23
I recently purchased a 1998 GMC Suburban 2500 with a 6.5 l diesel (160K miles). I'm completely new to diesel and was wondering if anyone would have a good recommendation on a repair manual for this vehicle so I can learn how to maintain it and keep it running. After 4000 miles the service engine light has come on so I'd like to figure out what is going on.

One question I have, and I know this is a noobie question so forgive me, but I'm hoping to learn the procedure for changing the fuel filter. I've done some searches here but I'm still unsure of the exact procedure for this vehicle. The fuel filter seems to be under an aluminum housing? Is there a bleeder to release air before opening it to remove the filter? How to trigger the lift pump for this model/year to refill the fuel level after filter is in prior to starting?

Thanks!

trbankii
12-05-2008, 09:41
The following books from this website are an excellent resource:

6.5L Turbo Diesel Volume I (http://www.thedieselpage.com/65book.htm)

6.5L Turbo Diesel Volume II (http://www.thedieselpage.com/65bookii.htm)

The 6.2L/6.5L Diesel Troubleshooting & Repair Guide (http://www.thedieselpage.com/t&rguide.htm)

The filter is at the back center of the engine, behind the cover you mention. There is a bleed screw on top of it. My truck is mechanical, but someone should be able to chime in on the electrical pump operation.

Hubert
12-07-2008, 07:14
Read in the owners manual about it for basics then Read, Read Read the forum. There are several posts on fuel filters to get all the tips. Its been posted several times. The owners manual doesn't do it quite justice but is barely ok. Its not hard just takes a little practice to feel real comfortable with it and know what to watch out for.