PDA

View Full Version : New to towing, 2wd 6.2 burb with 3.08, will this work?

merlot566jka
02-19-2009, 19:12
well I am new to this burb, and new to towing. I am about to move all of my belongings from a storage in Oklahoma, to Everett, Washington. Thats about 1900 miles, including some mountains. I will be towing a uhaul 6X12 trailer, and it will have about 3000lbs of stuff in it.

I just made this drive at the beginning of this year without a trailer. The burb made it, but I had to floor it in the mountains, and I could only maintain 45mph!! I have the 700R4, and 3.08 rear gears and 265/75/15 tires.

The good part was I was getting roughly 24mpg untill the mountains. Once in the mountains it was nothing but black smoke and slow going.

The engine has new timing set, new water pump and thermo, injectors, hummer intake manifold, fresh fuel filter and new glow plugs. It runs great, uses about 2qts of oil every 2000 miles. (going thru the cdr valve, I suspect)
And the truck has new shocks and decent tread on the tires. 167,000 on the clock...

So here the questions:
1. Should I change the rear gears?
2. Am I going to make it in the mountains with this trailer?!?
3. Is there anything I can do (short of a banks kit) to make this a little easier on the truck?

Thanks folks for any advice/help you can provide!

6.5 Detroit Diesel
02-19-2009, 19:45
buddy runs an 83 6.2 2wd four speed. The truck is okay for hauling itself around with the 3.08's in the back, but not much good for heavy hauling of any sort. Your truck should have the 8.5" rearend. I don't know where you live, but around here getting a new set is as simple as a trip to the junkyard and $50.

Being a 'burb, I don't know what your wind resistance will be like, but the trailer is going to add weight onto that 3,000 lbs, plus any wind pushing against it.

If you can get gears cheap enough, it might be worth it to run them, even for the trip to your new place.

#3-Turn up the IP a little

merlot566jka