PDA

View Full Version : Best engine for me?

Logman
03-20-2009, 09:07
Hello all, I'm new to diesels and am looking to buy a truck. The truck will be a daily driver and would pull a camper or car trailer on some weekends. What is the best duramax engine to look for? I want something that is reliable something that is ok on gas mileage. Thank you for helping/educating a rookie.

christophersond
03-20-2009, 09:37
So far, I've owned trucks with the LB7, LBZ, and the LMM Duramax. All three trucks were 2500HD, Crew Cabs, with 4WD, and were used for towing a travel trailer or 5th wheel for weekend camping as well as some cross country trips. I was completely satisfied with all of them when referring to reliability, power, and mileage. If you've never driven/owned a Duramax powered truck, I believe you will be impressed. :)

More Power
03-20-2009, 09:55
Welcome to the board! Ordinarily, the best truck/engine is the one sitting in your driveway.

If you are a decent backyard mechanic, an older LB7 would be fine. On the other hand if you are not inclined or not equipped to do a majority of any vehicle service or maintenance, you should consider a newer truck that still has some warranty left - or buy an extended warranty. Engine & trans work can be expensive, especially if you're paying the going rate for labor. ;)

Jim

Runaway_Dmax
03-20-2009, 20:30
If I was in the market for a used gm diesel truck I would shy away from the one older than 2004 (LB7) because of injector issues. Costly repairs.

From mid 04 to mid 06 was the LLY engine that I have no experience with, though my uncle has one and has no complaints decent mileage.

Most of my neighbors have the LBZ engine mid 06 - mid 07 and they have no complaints some claim good mileage and others poor.