PDA

View Full Version : 1993 6.5 Runs bad until warm

fishshallow
03-25-2009, 22:46
Im new to the forum and my truck does the same thing, its only when its cool outside. I have a 93 2500 with 260,000 miles. Mine doesnt die but it runs bad until it warms up. i joined cuz my truck has a few problems and im a college student short on funds so i cant do much experimenting to find out whats wrong. On thing i did try last winter was changing the glow plugs, it didnt help anything but atleast a have new glow plugs. I hope you figure out what the problem is b/c i always feel like my truck is on the verg of death!

john8662
03-26-2009, 08:15
Post was moved into a new thread to not hijack another thread...

With 260k miles on the engine a few components are quite ready for replacement. The main thing that comes to mind is the health of the injection system and of the timing chain.

I'd start with a new chain and gears for the front of the engine, At about 150k miles on a 6.5 the timing chain has stetched significantly, and usually warrants replacement. You will need to replace the crank gear, cam gear and the chain itself, they can be bought as a set (recommended). Once replaced this will help regain engine timing.

To tell whether you should replace the components, you can advance the injection timing and see if you get any improvement.

1993 6.5's are Mechanically injected, 1994 and on 6.5's have electronic fuel injection, totally different.

Please take some time to explore posts via the "Search" feature found in the blue bar near the top of this page.

Things to search for: Timing chain replacement, advancing timing, injection pump replacement and anything else you're curious about.

J

DaveBr
03-26-2009, 10:57