PDA

View Full Version : 02 1/2 Ton Duramax Conversion

tanman_2006
03-31-2009, 19:38
I am new to TDP and have not personaly owned a diesel. I currently own an 02 GMC 1/2 ton 2wd with a 4.8L. I have been throwing around the thought of putting a Duramax in it.

I still want to keep the driveability of the truck and obtain 20+ mpg (hopefully) after the conversion. I have also seen a duramax kick some butt in a races and that would be nice!

I was wondering what the best way to go about this would be. I was thinking about the LLY just based off of a few things I have read. Any thoughts would be great.

tanman_2006
04-04-2009, 15:32
My main questions are will the 6.6 Dmax/ Allison fit? What kind of wiring challenges will I face? And will my 10 bolt rear axle hold up to the torque of the engine?

I plan to start looking for a roll over truck or something of the sort that is a 2wd.

Thanks for any advice in advance, it will be appriciated.

More Power
04-04-2009, 16:10
Things to consider....

1- It's usually best to install a Duramax/Allison that is the same model year as your GMT-800 (2000's) truck/vehicle, which will allow nearly plug-n-play compatibility. Any wiring changes that may have occured in newer engine/trans systems might complicate a mixed-year installation, though nearly any year/model swap is possible with a persistant and knowledgeable person.

2- You'll have to install a body lift of 2-3 inches to gain the necessary transmission tunnel and hood clearance you'll need. Of course, a lift wouldn't be necessary if you're prepared to modify the trans tunnel and hood. ;)

3- The Duramax/Allison utilize their own unique wiring harnesses and computer modules. These will plug right into your existing underhood electrical center. Your existing engine/trans harnesses and modules won't be used.

4- You'll need the diesel hydraulic brake booster and master cylinder. These should be a direct swap for your existing brake parts.