PDA

View Full Version : 95 IP Timing

6.5 Detroit Diesel
05-30-2009, 10:12
So, the 95 has a basically brand new pump from SSD. Only thing is, it never arrived with timing marks that Walt had apparently told my Dad it would have. The truck has needed to be plugged in for the morning, or it wouldn't start. Even in our recent hot weather, it still won't start on it's own. Batteries are good, starter is good, connections are good, LP is brand new. So I am thinking that the actual IP will have to be shifted. The only question is, which way. I am thinking that the fuel is getting injected to late, but I could be wrong. I have never done work with a DS4 before, and was planning to have the truck ready for my employees to use by Monday. :confused:

Duramaster
05-30-2009, 10:17
This 1995 6.5 diesel is in a pickup and is a 6.5 Turbo Diesel with an EFI pump, correct? If so, you need a GM Tech1 to actually perform the timing procedure. Good luck with that.

6.5 Detroit Diesel
05-30-2009, 12:27
Yes, it's a 95 with a new DS4 in it. Apparently my Dad took it in to the stealership and they performed the timing procedure.

So does it matter where the IP is for the timing then? If it's all electronically controlled, I don't understand why Walt would say that the pump had to be turned a certain amount to the right or left when installed. :confused:

Unless there is something else that is the problem here. When it's warmed up, it restarts fine. It's just that when being started cold, it needs assistance. It idles really nice and the engine winds up and down really nicely. Trying to think if there is something else at work here.

Duramaster
05-30-2009, 23:01