PDA

View Full Version : injection pump timing

berryracer
07-27-2009, 14:04
Is there any way to set the injection pump timing on a 96 6.5 without a Tech 2 scanner. I don't have access to one anymore through my connections due to GMs restructuring my buddys job at a dealer away. Is there a more affordable scanner that will do what I need, or am I sol.... My truck is in need of a pump which I have, but I guess we need a scanner to view the pump timing to set it. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Philsky
07-27-2009, 15:04
I have a tech 2 scanner, but for some reason my timing won't go below 5.67 degrees. It has been running up in the 8 degree range. I am no diesel expert, I have a feeling I might be doing something wrong because my actual and desired timing are the same argghhhh. I have pulled the manifold and rotated the pump left and right but I just can't get the timing to 3.53 degrees. any ideas out there?

dieselrealtor
07-27-2009, 18:05
I am going to be installing a pump in a few days.

Will it have to be timed with a GM scan tool or will I be able to get by with measuring the position & matching the position on new one?

ultimate
07-30-2009, 12:08
Is there any way to set the injection pump timing on a 96 6.5 without a Tech 2 scanner.

Autoengenuity is a program that could be helpful........Google search.

joed
07-30-2009, 15:25
Or if you have a laptop, I've had good luck using CarCode (OBD-2). It's fairly inexpensive ($130 or so) and it will set timing.

As for adjusting the timing, on the OBD-II trucks (96&newer) you can set the TDC offset without a scanner, using the following procedure: (often called KOKO - key on, key off).

1. Start the engine.
2. Operate the vehicle until the engine coolant temperature is greater than 77°C (170°F).
3. Turn the ignition ON with the engine OFF.
4. Hold the accelerator pedal in the wide open throttle position for a minimum of 45 seconds (this step prepares the PCM to activate the offset learn (internal).