PDA

View Full Version : From a novice - 6.5 rebuilding hassles and questions

jerry598
08-16-2009, 22:45
This is lengthy and somewhat verbose but documents some of the problems I've run into doing a rebuild on my beloved 6.5.

I'm a self-taught novice mechanic - always have tried to do my own work to save $$$ since I was a teenager over 40 years ago.

Heres the story:

1. My K3500 6.5 TD was running great, then the cooling system started to pressurize and burp coolant right after startup. Would burp out the overflow on short trips (tried over and over again to get all air expelled through the screw - no luck. Hoses were hard almost immediately after startup and coolant burped on the shortest of trips - even on idling after startup. In other threads, I found that Jim said it was a classic head gasket failure symptom and sure enough after removing the heads found the LH gasket had a crack in the 3:00 oclock position between the #7cylinder.

2. I also found minor cracks between valves in the #4 and #8 cylinders on the heads but my local machinist did not want to attempt a repair. Should have found someone else to sleeve those passages and might have saved a couple hundred bucks, but have now ordered new heads from Clearwater Florida ($650).