PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Help w/6.2 motor

akarpf
10-27-2009, 19:51
Hey, I'm a newbie to this forum. I have a 84 C10 w/6.2 liter diesel and i'm having problems with the starting of the truck. I think the glow plugs or not getting hot enough and there about 2 weeks old and if the motor is hot it will start without a problem. I was thinking about wiring the glow plungs to a switch so I can control the amount of time and when. But I would like them to work like there supposed to.

P.S. And I'm looking for more power to and would appreciate any suggestions.

Thank You
akarpf@aol.com

john8662
10-28-2009, 06:57
Tell us a little bit more about your truck.

Is it using the factory glow controller? This will look like a "cigar" but larger around on the back of the engine on the driver's side. It's the controller and there is an actual relay to turn on the plugs that hangs out on the firewall.

So, if your setup "automatic" where you turn the key, the light comes on and then goes out after around 8 seconds?

If so, you'll also want to verify that your plugs are still working. This is easy to do. Just get a 12v test light and plug the wire terminal on your (+) terminal on the battery. Then you'll use the pick end of the test light on the actual terminal of the glow plug. You will disconnect the wire off the plug you're checking when checking it though. If your light illuminates, the plug is still good.

What brand and part number plugs did you use? A lot of the aftermarket plugs out there have a short life, especially those marked as "quick heat."

Robyn
10-28-2009, 07:45
60G delco plugs are about the best choice for these engines.

Another issue that is much overlooked is the condition of the injectors in these engines.

When the injectors get 100K miles or more the POP pressure and the spray pattern deteriorates drastically.