PDA

View Full Version : Optima Batteries - Not made in the USA anymore!

DarylB
11-05-2009, 17:30
Sad news guys,

I had one of my red top's die recently, it lasted 4 years. Got it replaced under warranty (Pro-rated) for $45. The new ones are only 3-year free replacement and they're not made in the USA anymore. (My yellow top says Mexico). Any other good recomendations for an 84 month or better battery that's cost effective? The optimas aren't worth $150 for 3 years to me.

bobt
11-05-2009, 22:36
I've always been a fan of DieHards. I've been using them for over 40 years and in my experience they last within 2 months of the total warranty. The DieHards in my '93 are at the 100 month mark on a 100 month warranty and still working; but, based on my previous experience, I'm getting ready to replace them.
Bob

CoyleJR
11-06-2009, 10:33
I recently purchased two, blue top Optima batteries online from Amazon. When they arrived, I suprised to find a "Made in Mexico" tag on them. When I asked a local Optima dealer about it, he said that Optima was bought out by Johnson Controls, moved Optima to Mexico and raised the price. Additionally, he said that Optima batteries are no longer gel filled (just lead acid) and that he has been having a lot of failures from the Johnson Controls Optima batteries. I can't confirm what the Optima dealer said, but he seemed to know what he was talking about.

DmaxMaverick
11-06-2009, 10:51
Very disappointing, if the quality took a turn. It's no surprise the manufacture of them has moved out of this country. The EPA regulations make it nearly impossible to sustain any business for such products, no matter how necessary they are.

Optima batteries have NEVER been "gel filled". Ever. They have always been lead-acid. It is (was) the design of the battery that makes (made) them unique, attributing their longevity and durability.