PDA

View Full Version : No throttle when cold

rigger
01-01-2010, 15:02
I'm a total newbie when it comes to diesel. The 2000 GMC 2500 6.5L TD is my first. Truck runs fine but when I start it and try to go anywhere when cold there is absolutely no power or throttle response. At first I thought transmission but with the fact that there wasn't even a rev increase tells me something else. As for cold I mean only 10c rainy Vancouver weather and after sitting for the night. Things are fine after it warms up. Also after it does start it shakes like crazy as if there's a lack of fuel, I hit the pedal and it will puff a big cloud of smoke then the engine will idle fine.
Ideas?

twaddle
01-01-2010, 15:55
Hi,
Does it take a bit of cranking on the starter motor before it fires up when cold or does it fire up quickly?
From you description of clouds of smoke I would Initially guess that some or all of the glow plugs are not working.

Jim-T
PS welcome to The Dieselpage.

Robyn
01-01-2010, 16:53
A total absence of any throttle response when cold sounds like a PPS (Electronic throttle issue)

When this is happening is the check engine or service throttle soon light on??

I would recommend getting the thing scanned to see what codes if any are stored in the computer.

There could be one of several issues but the first step since it runs ok when warm is to see what DTC's are present.

Smokey cold starts could be glow plugs but that will not stop the thing from reving up once it lites off.

Keep us Posted

Missy

rigger
01-01-2010, 18:28
Hi,
Does it take a bit of cranking on the starter motor before it fires up when cold or does it fire up quickly?
From you description of clouds of smoke I would Initially guess that some or all of the glow plugs are not working.

Jim-T
PS welcome to The Dieselpage.