PDA

View Full Version : 2009/2010 Chevy 3500HD

TripleKfarms
01-08-2010, 21:03
I'm new to the forum and have a question about 09/10 3500HD. I am currently a Ford guy but I'm very dissatisfied with it. Its an 08, F350 dually with only 15000 miles. I'm a cattle farmer that pulls a 28' gooseneck stock trailer that can weigh 15K+ at times and I also have a 37.5 ft tri-axle 5th wheel camper that weighs 13K dry. That said, does anyone that currently owns a 09/10 3500 HD? I'm interested in buying a new chevy dually and was wondering about pulling power, braking, electronics, weight capacity and of course fuel milage. I don't want to spend the 50K to get a truck like I already have. I sure miss the 7.3L powerstroke.

Thanks in advance! and let the jokes begin, but please also tell me why I need to go to Chevy???

Mark Rinker
01-09-2010, 09:09
WELCOME ABOARD!

The newest Chevy Duramax I have owned is an '06, so I can't speak on all points to the newer models, but suffice to say that the Duramax/Allison combination has proven to be a very powerful and durable combination.

I have over 500K hardcore towing miles criss-crossing the US and Canada on 6 different Duramaxes, and the weights you've described are well within their capabilities. My advice (if you buy) is to use the truck in its stock trim for long enough to appreciate what it provides over a range of operating conditions before spending any money to modify tire size, exhaust, fuel rates, etc. They are pretty good, right out of the box.

Ford stepped on their own dick with the latest Powerstroke. They'll be back in the game, when they can come up with a turbo that will live under 95% load for months on end...right now they are a grenade waiting to happen, IMO.

richp
01-09-2010, 11:05
Hi,