PDA

View Full Version : My take on my new Heath Turbomaster

fastboat
02-11-2010, 12:44
Well if you saw my thread on my vacuum problems and Hypertech chip you are up to speed. If not, the quick story is the vac system broke again and I was unsure if the Hypertech chip that was installed many years ago would work with the turbomaster. I was going to stay original, but destroyed my brand new vac pump when trying to press on the old pulley. If any of you want advice on how NOT to press on your old pulley please contact me- I am an expert. SO, $200 wasted cash later I bought the Heath TM. It is a VERY well made piece, with the best set of idiot proof installation instructions I have ever seen, and an extra nut in case you drop one! In my first look at it, it seemed like the swing of the wastegate arm would hit a boss on the turbo, so I called Heath. They told me it would be fine, the arm would never swing back that far anyway. They also said to run it up to 70mph, then stab the throttle to see if I get a soft SES code. Very pleasant and helpful conversation. So I installed it and gave it a run. It seems like the boost comes in a little sooner and rises and falls more smoothly. With the old vac system, it would spike to 18 lbs when stomping it from a stop, then fall back to a lower level. This goes to about 12 , then comes down but not as far. So far I think it is smoother, with better pull down low, but possibly not quite as stong on the top end? Maybe something to do with the way the Hypertech chip is programmed to work with the factory vac system? I don't pull much, but I'm guessing when I do I will see an even bigger improvement. Anyway, I'm very happy now and I will see this week how the mileage is affected, if at all, and report back on that. If anyone wants a brand new vacuum pod (only) or knows how to rebuild a pump send me a message!
Dave

6.5 Detroit Diesel
02-11-2010, 14:06
sounds good. i am planning on ordering one soon.

bullboybob
02-12-2010, 20:59