PDA

View Full Version : Dark Grey Smoke

shouldaboughtachevy
02-18-2010, 23:46
04.5 LLY Bone stock.

I'm a complete noob with a diesel but I've tried to do my homework and have troubleshooted about as far as I'm capable.

The last few days it's been blowing dark grey smoke. No smoke at idle and no smoke when the turbo is fully spooled up. It only does it between about 800 rpm and 2200. Also, it doesn't always smoke either. Sometimes it's clean as a whistle. Sometimes the smoke is darker than others, sometimes it is lighter and almost white. Sometimes it cleans up a little earlier(1500+ rpms) Sometimes it only smokes a tad and sometimes it bellows. The smoke doesn't smell like coolant, which is relieving. However, it has red coolant and I can't say that I've ever smelled red burn before and so I don't know if it's any different.

Maybe it's just coincidence, but last week I had to let it idle for about 18 hours straight and a day or two after seems to be about when it started. I did have the elevated idle feature on. There doesn't appear to be any fuel in my oil. I haven't lost any coolant so far, and my overflow doesn't bubble when cranking or running. It does seem like my fuel economy has dropped a little, but my driving conditions have changed considerably since I first checked it. (up and down steep grades on dirt roads as opposed to simply around town) I haven't experienced any noticeable loss of power. I haven't put any additive in my fuel since I've had the truck (about a month) Maybe someone can recommend a good brand?

I don't know if it matters, but 90% of the time outside temperature is below freezing. Temperature hits about 35 F almost every day for a couple hours and goes back down to around 15 F.