PDA

View Full Version : Making 18:1 pistons

eracers999
12-29-2004, 23:30
So if i cut a stock mahle piston down .028 to .030 i will have 18:1 comp??

The ceramic coating that was on the dome does that need to be replaced? It's been said that you could burn a hole in the top if you did'nt re coat. I couldent find a single post of a 6.5 burning a hole in a stock piston, they are uncoated.

I can realisticly wind up with a 18:1 piston set for about 425.00 what do the all knowings think of this??

Thanks/Kent

rjschoolcraft
12-30-2004, 03:49
While I have no experience directly, a cut down piston will leave a small portion of the cylinder wall exposed at TDC. A better approach, in my opinion, is to use a set that have a dished out volume in the top (designed for 18:1 compression) that still have full height side walls. Obviously, these will be more expensive...

Billman
12-30-2004, 05:38
I am unfamiliar with the 6.5 piston but I would not remove .030.

I have ordered many custom sets of pistons from JE & Wiseco. I think they will make you anything you want. Just give them dimensions. Style/Bore/Pin height etc...

Price could be another issue though.

99gmccrew
12-30-2004, 09:57
Would someone please explain the benefits of going to 18:1 pistons. My manual says my 99 L65
has 20.2:1 comp. ratio. I believe I've seen that the L56 has around 21.5:1. Is my comp ratio ok with sustained boost of 15psi on long grades while towing. Is there a point that should not be crossed on boost pressure for 20.2:1 cr's. I've read here that lower cr's allow you to have higher boost pressures, but why is this?
Thanks

Peter J. Bierman
12-30-2004, 13:08
I did cut 1mm off the standard 6.2 piston and have had no problems with it so far.
Official 18:1 pistons would be better though couse you alter the piston topshape too.
If you cut too much, it will be flat and I am not sure what that will do for gasflow and preformance.

Peter

More Power
12-30-2004, 14:07