PDA

View Full Version : Need help

kglenn
08-01-2010, 18:02
Hey guys, I'm new to the D-Max world and need some advise on what is going on with my new ride. I purchased a 2005 GMC two weeks ago and keep having the same problem. If I take it out on the highway and go maybe six miles it will start losing power and start smoking like crazy. It has done this three times and only made the check engine light come on once. one code was for the mass air flow sensor. We took it off and blew a piece of trash off of it, plugged it back up, cleared the codes and all seemed well. drove it around town with no problems. Took off out of town yesterday and it all started over again. This morning I got a sensor off another truck and all seemed well again....... till i took off down the highway and it started the same thing. I shut it off, unplugged the sensor, let it set and plugged it back up and it got me back home. The fuel mileage has been really low also. What could be going on here ?

kglenn
08-02-2010, 19:20
Come-on, Somebody must have some kind of an idea where to start on this. I,m at a loss. I have gone ahead and ordered a new mass air flow sensor. I really don't think this is the problem though. Any help is greatly appreciated.

DmaxMaverick
08-03-2010, 01:29
Welcome aboard!

Not really much to go on without the actual codes. All of them, even if they seem unrelated.

Then, replace the filters. Replace the air filter, even if it "looks" OK. Replace the fuel filter, well, just because. If your MAF is "plugging", you have other issues at play. It shouldn't need any but the most infrequent cleaning. That is, of course, unless you are using an oil-type air filter. If that's the case, install an OEM type filter, at least until you get the issue resolved.