PDA

View Full Version : my water injection system.

fixajet
08-08-2010, 08:54
I used to be an active poster here about 8-9 years ago, and I still lurk around now and again. When I first bought my 93 about 9 years ago, it wouldn't get out of its own way (power wise). There were alot of fine folks at that time on this forum who helped me get "more power" out of the old beast. So the other day, while I had the hood up, I thought I would take a couple of pictures of my homemade water injection system and post them. Now I know that there are alot of folks who say they would never inject water into their engine and thats fine, but Ive been running this system for over 6 years now without so much as a hiccup. The only problem I have had, is being pulled over by the highway patrol. Seems they don't like the beer keg Im using as my water container in the back of my truck. :-)
I don't want this to turn into a 'your doing it all wrong' type of thread, this is just what Ive done and it has worked fine for me. I also wanted to thank everyone over the years for continuing their input for the 6.5.

Nozzles:
Ive installed 2 fine mist nozzles (off the top of my head I can't remember the flow rate of them, but I think I have them written down somewhere) One kicks in at 8 lbs of boost and the other one at 12.

Control:
2 adjustable pressure switches (tapped into manifold pressure) sends 12v to the 2 water solenoids (opens when 12v applied, closes when not) One is adjusted at 8psi the other 12.

Switch:
metal on/off switch with 2 green indication lights. Turns shurflo water pump on/off and the green lights tell me when each of the solenoids have opened letting me know I have water flow.
I can peg the boost gauge at 15+ without exceeding egt :-)