PDA

View Full Version : How to set the time a 1993 engine to a new ip

bigredtruck
09-06-2010, 17:22
I have installed a new ip the way gm manual said to and no start I have tried everything I advanced the timing retarded the timing and still the same thing now I didnt move more than a 1/6th as I didnt want to cause damage to the pump or engine. I have been reading were people are having to set the timing to the new pump.so does anybody know how to do this on a 1993 thanks:(

93GMCSierra
09-06-2010, 19:59
Did you crack the fuel line at a few injectors to bleed air out?
I am not an expert, though I did replace the IP in my old 93, IP timing is set by turning the ip, advance is toward the drivers side. Check to make sure your getting fuel to the filter, lift pump working correctly. if you get fuel at the filter crack open the lines at the injector so it can bleed air out between filter and injectors, when you have no more air if it does not fire make sure you lined the IP pully up correctly.

Yukon6.2
09-07-2010, 07:53
Hi
Where did you get your IP? The first IP i changed on my truck was one i got off eBay,turned out to be a military IP with a 24 volt fuel shutoff.I was starting to worry that it wouldn't start:eek:.Then i found out i had to switch the fuel shutoff,problem solved.
These IP's are simple to change,probly just airlocked unless you have other issues.Like wrong or falty fuel shutoff,unknown histoty of pump like used,rebuilt untested,ect.
Do some reading using the search feature,you can find all the info you will need.
Don't give up on your truck,the 93 year is the last of the mechanical IP's lots of people would love to have it over the electronic yrs.
Good Luck
Thomas

bigredtruck
09-08-2010, 02:43