PDA

View Full Version : Cruise Control Question

dsnyder
11-29-2010, 20:09
I just purchased a 1994 6.5 Turbo Diesel Suburban and I absolutely love it!!! Right now I am trying to get the cruise control working but I am a bit confused. I'm new to this vehicle so if my questions seem stupid, my learning curve is steep right now!

Where is the cruise control module that the article from this website writes about? I've looked all over the driver's side firewall and I can't find a module and I can't find any mounting holes either (in case the previous owner removed it). I did run the VIN number and it states that my vehicle was equipped with cruise control. There is a cruise control switch on my column- it just does not do anything.

Any thoughts on where to start?

Thanks!

bobt
11-29-2010, 22:38
If I recall correctly, on my '93 C3500, it was attached on/near the brake master cylinder.
Bob

john8662
11-30-2010, 08:23
94's are electronic no cable-driven cruise control (unless retrofitted of course).

The most likely issue is the switch on the column, or a sticking brake switch, etc.

There is no cruise control box on the firewall, the cruise is all integrated into the computer, because the injection pump is electronic so the computer regulates the fuel output to run the cruise.

dsnyder
11-30-2010, 10:09
OK that is sort of what I suspected- Is there a troubleshooting chart for the drive by wire cruise control anywhere?

Dave

JohnC
11-30-2010, 10:29
There's not much to it. Three modes of failure I can think of.

First, if the turn signal stalk switches don't work, it won't turn on or set. There is (I think) an indicator light on the dash. Does it work?

Second, (very common) if the brake light switch is telling the PCM the brake is depressed the cruise control will not engage.

Third, if there are any faults detected by the PCM with respect to the electronic throttle control, the cruise control will not engage.