PDA

View Full Version : can a 6.2 replace a 6.5t? how practical?

sak778
12-19-2010, 01:54
Greetings Friends,
I have a 94 gmc 2500 with a 6.5T 4l80e 4x4. Can i put a 6.2 out of an 80's suburban into it? What will I have to reuse? I know i need to keep the electronic injection pump with the pmd, shorter injectors and lines and manifolds and intake.
Will the 6.2 work with the turbo? will all my accessories bolt on? My 6.5 block is broke/missing around the starter bolts. Thats how I got it. Yes a have got the bolt on brace.
Any other options I should look at? I'm new to the 6.2's and 6.5t's but i've had a 7.3 powerstroke and a 6.9 idi ford.
What are the differences between an 83 and an 87 6.2na? these are my choices to replace my 94 6.5t. The 6.5t in my truck is also doing the dissappearing coolant trick. Soooo I'm thinking thad one or both of my heads are cracked.
Soooo is using the 6.2 heads out of the question? I just got laid off so money is tight. But I also bought a used tested pmd and a new extension cabel so I can get it off the intake manifold. So I will spend money where it's needed. suggestions, reccomendations? Thanks, Sean

YMMV

Robyn
12-19-2010, 09:21
Hi there

What you want to do is quite easily accomplished, and in fact I am doing the same thing for my 1995 GMC Dually CC 4x4

The 6.2 is essentially the same as the 6.5 with the exception of the bore.

To install the 6.2 (early engine of say 1982-1988 production) into your 1994 truck, here is what you need to do.

The later 6.5 heads must be used.
If the 6.2 is an early one with the two piece rear main seal, then you must use an oil pan from the 1988 to 1990 vintage 6.2 engine that was installed in the GMT 400 style trucks ( 88 and later pickups)

***Note***
These pans have the same sump configuration that will clear the IFS differential but have the slightly different rear arch over the rear main to fi the older style two piece rear main seal main cap.

OK