PDA

View Full Version : another poor milage thread

chrisangelski
04-15-2011, 07:15
Hello everyone,
I recently acquired a 1997 6.5turbo 1500series automatic transmission quad cab with new 265/75/16 michelins all seasons from my uncle who is in too bad of shape to get in and out of her anymore. I am a complete newby to deisel engines, and a novice with gas engines but am eager and willing to learn. I have 2 young children and my wife is not working, so I need minimal dealership/mechanics labor. I know that my uncle serviced this truck regularally and I have all the service records for the past 2 years.
My uncle told me that the truck in the past got 18.5mpg and recently it gotten worse. I have filled it up twice now and I am on average 11.2mpg(11, 11.4) mix of city/hwy. The truck does smoke pretty bad when shifting, but seems to perform pretty good(I am very light on the pedal)but she does seem to have a VERY light studder when driving with my foot steady on the pedal(feels like I need to give more fuel) . The only thing that has coded is an air intake leak, which I am not completly sure is fixed as of yet. One last thing to add is my uncle had the oil changed at jiffy lube, and if I have time today I am changeing the oil to Rotella T 15-40, and the air filter is clean and new.
So to my question: Where could a guy start on changeing things to improve milage. Fuel filter and an oil change is top priority, but is there anything else that comes to your minds. ANY help would be very greatly appreciated.
P.S I live in Ontario Canada, and I do understand a little about winter fuel.

trbankii
04-15-2011, 07:30
Simple things would be the fuel filter and air filter - then diagnostics from there.

convert2diesel
04-15-2011, 09:41