PDA

View Full Version : checking timing chain and etc.

sask3500
05-06-2011, 22:42
Hey there, I have a few questions regarding the timing system on the 6.5.

I am a novice 6.5 mechanic, so more information is better.

First I need some clairification on how to guesstimate chain slack, one part is the "timing mark on the damper" referred to in the diesel page troubleshooting book. Where is it and what is it in relation to; is there a matching mark to line it up with? Do you just do some math and mark 3 degrees on the damper and make a tempoary pointer to reference?

The other part is how can the crank be turned without removing the drive pulley to get at the damper nut? Is the drive pulley easily damaged?

Then, if the chain seems to be nearing the wear limit according to this technique, can the timing be set (with a scanner) with a chain near the slack limit? Should it be set to allow for a small amount of future wear? How much?

I know this is a mouthful, but these are all questions I need awnsers to before it goes to the shop. I am trying to prevent the shop from surprising me with a chain in need of replacement.

Thanks for the collective awesomeness here,
Justin

DaveBr
05-07-2011, 22:21
If it's a high miler you probably need a chain. You should have a signature so we know what we are dealing with.

sask3500
05-08-2011, 07:11
What I am trying to find out is if I can quickly assess the chainset condition to decide if the $180 to get the timing set by scan tool is wasted money, or if that is all that is needed for awhile.

If I can tell if the timing chain is definately okay without removing the front cover, I'll get the timing checked. If not, a timing set goes on the list of parts to order.

I am running thru a list and trying to assess the condition of this motor, it's a wrecker engine and mileage is unknown. There is nothing in particular pointing to a timing issue, merely checking normal wear items and prioritizing what gets fixed first.