PDA

View Full Version : 2500 hops in 1st gear

JCarreon
07-06-2011, 18:59
I just bought a 2003 GMC Sierra 2500 with 58000 miles on a 6.6, Allison, 4X4, lifted, 35"tires, long bed, and a quad cab. It has an Edge computer progammer and big exhaust on it. I got it in Wyoming and drove it to Las Vegas. It did great and got 15.5 mpg with going through the Rockies. The problem I am having is that when I accelerate from a stop, the truck shutters and hops till it changes gears. I havent had a chance to look closely at it yet. It feels as if a band is too lose in the trans or something. I have no experience on these transmissions. My buddy has the same truck and says his does the same thing. Looking for some advice on what it could be? I have another problem with the tranny not going into park, but I'll be asking about that later. Thanks.

rapidoxidationman
07-06-2011, 20:31
Are you sure the shift linkage is properly adjusted? Might be what's stopping you from going into park (hopefully).

What color is the transmission fluid? When was it last drained/filled? Is there enough in the pan? Is there too much in the pan? Any diagnostic codes? (You can buy an OBD-II reader for about $80)

Edahall
07-06-2011, 20:50
I just bought a 2003 GMC Sierra 2500 with 58000 miles on a 6.6, Allison, 4X4, lifted, 35"tires, long bed, and a quad cab. It has an Edge computer progammer and big exhaust on it. I got it in Wyoming and drove it to Las Vegas. It did great and got 15.5 mpg with going through the Rockies. The problem I am having is that when I accelerate from a stop, the truck shutters and hops till it changes gears. I havent had a chance to look closely at it yet. It feels as if a band is too lose in the trans or something. I have no experience on these transmissions. My buddy has the same truck and says his does the same thing. Looking for some advice on what it could be? I have another problem with the tranny not going into park, but I'll be asking about that later. Thanks.