07-17-2011, 13:47
hey guys im new to chevy diesels. my questions are how long do
the injection pumps last. do they give symptoms are just leave you
sitting. i bought my 98 k3500 4x4 6.5 turbo diesel on e-bay
from a dealer in phil pa. i didnt make out of pa before the tranny
went out. i pulled the tranny and had rebuilt. can someone give
me a little more insight on what to replace or check before
putting this truck in service. i travel all over n. carolina and s.carolina
doing refrigeration work for a guy who owns 45 dennys rest.
the truck has 169,000 miles and runs great, but just need some
advice on what else to check.

thanks again for any help

steve n.carolina

JohnC
07-17-2011, 13:51
Start reading! All the answers are here.

The most common component to fail that will leave you on the side of the road is called the "PMD". It is part of the injection pump. The best strategy is to get a new one and remote mount it. Then, if you're really concerned, carry a known working spare in the glove box. They're easy to change on the remote mount, pretty much impossible on the pump.

Carry an extra fuel filter, too.

Robyn
07-17-2011, 14:37
The PMD is a little black box that mounts to the LH side of the injection pump.

You can (if its not already done) unhook and fish the wire harness out from the PMD (leave the old one on the pump.

The plug in the PMD has a little resistor that drops in before you plug the harness into it. Unless you know what the old one was (you can't see it) use a number 5 (get from GM or a Stanadyne repair shop.

The remote heat sink coolers and extension cables are available all over the net. Ebay has them listed in the 6.5 section.

Mount the cooler out of the engine bay. In front of the core support is a great place.

I have mounted them on the INSIDE of the pan that folds down under the radiator. Easy to swing the pan down and change the PMD.

I say carry a complete cooler wih the PMD mounted as a spare.