PDA

View Full Version : turbo options?

shadpeters
10-19-2011, 13:08
I have a 1989 suburban with a NA 6.2 diesel in it. I bought it mainly for the excellent fuel economy ( I am getting around 24 mpg at 55-65 mph), but there are times when a little more power would be nice. I am a very conservative driver and do not push vehicles very hard so I am not wanting to push the limits of the motor or anything, but mostly would just like to be able to pass cars on the 2 lane highways without worrying about if I will be able to get up to speed before some truck appears up on the horizon and takes me out... To get to the point I have been thinking about putting a turbo on the 6.2 to give it a little more power.
The obvious solution is one of the kits from banks, but I am on a really tight budget... I would like to be able to do this for 500 or less. Used banks kits are not super easy to come by and from what I have seen are usually not complete. Will a 6.5 turbo setup work bolt up to the 6.2, I read in one of the DP books that they are not a great fit but can be made to work... Is the 6.5 intake manifold better than the one on the 6.2? will they even bolt up?

I also thought about a remote setup. At first I really liked this idea, but the more I think about it the more issues I have with it. I would either have to run twin turbos In order to use as much of the existing dual exhaust system as possible, or I would need to switch over to a single exhaust for a single turbo.
I am not opposed to a twin set up, but it just seems like it would be a more expensive en devour to purchase two turbos, twice the piping, twice the oil lines and all that... In addition I really would not know what size turbo to run in a twin set up. Whether twin or single, i would also need some type of pump for the return lines which is just added expense.