PDA

View Full Version : Help. No Start

1Ton
01-03-2012, 11:43
Hello,
Hard to believe that this is my first post. I have been a member for awhile and usually find what I need in this incredible amount of information on the site.

So here is my issue. Upgraded to a 97+ cooling system and a DSG Gear Drive. Placed the Injection Pump back to the same location that I marked before the tear down. It fired up and ran great. Drove it off and on over a few weeks while waiting for my Software/Cable from Engh Motors. Started running worse and worse as the weeks went on. Finally threw a Stepper motor fault/ Cylinder balance fault. Finally received my Software/Cable and plugged it in. Cleared the codes and waited for the Coolant to come up to 180 degrees. It was about 170 degrees as I started playing around with software and clicked on the TDC Learn button by mistake. It went through the process and then the engine just stopped. Now I am getting the TDC Offset Error.

I have rotated the Injection Pump 1mm at a time to the drivers side with no success. Starting at my original spot. I also went 1mm to the passenger side but it didn't sound right.

The batteries were completely drained because of a seat heater being left on. Previous owner wired it to constant. (fix later) Fully charged them and took them to Autozone for a load test. They passed.

I have verified fuel to the Injection Pump. The Tank is full and the Lift Pump is functioning.

Something that is suspect to me is I put a Multi Meter across the two wires from the truck that go to the shut off solinoid and it showed 9.5 volts while cranking. Shouldn't that be 12V??

DTC-88 is the only code it is throwing at this time.

What am I missing?

1Ton
01-03-2012, 21:23
After submitting my first post I found an interesting post about someone who had a sheared Cam Key(woodruff key).
Went home and watched the injection pump gear through the oil inlet and it was not moving when the motor was turned over.
Mystery solved.