PDA

View Full Version : Belt broke, forced to limp home...help.

Shed
03-13-2012, 05:31
I was on the way home this morning at o dark thirty and suddenly the battery light comes on and I have no power steering/brakes...

Pull over and find a shredded belt. Problem is we had heavy fog and I'm on a county 2 lane road. I feared a serious collision, so the truck was running and the gauges were all ok with the exception of the charging system. I decided to limp it home 5 miles. kept it slow(35 mph) due to lack of steering and brakes. Truck ran fine and did'nt over heat or anything out of the ordinary.

My questions.... Did I hurt it limping home? How hard is it to change a belt? I am NOT a mechanic and have limitedabilities. There are no mechanics anywhere near and I hate to pay a tow bill for 35 miles.:(

Thanks for any help.

DmaxMaverick
03-13-2012, 08:02
You didn't hurt anything. The Duramax engine was designed to run an extended distance w/o the acc. belt. The water pump is gear driven. As you've noticed, only the power assist and alternator were absent. While in a cooler climate, you could have driven it until the batteries got too low to run the electronics.