PDA

View Full Version : LB7 head gaskets and injectors change

DAKOTAKIDD
04-19-2012, 23:14
Hey all, First off I am new to this site and to diesels. Looks like a great place to hang out. Lots of info here.

I am going to be doing a head gasket and injector change in my 03 LB7. I just had it diagnosed at a local shop but their cost for parts and labour are way to rich for me. I am a aircraft mechanic so I decided I am going to do it my self but I need a little help in some areas.

I think I am going to order my parts from Merchant auto and when I spoke to them today, he said all I needed was a head gasket kit with manifold gaskets, injectors and injector kit. I will buy the tools I need to do the job (injector re-re and cup re-re tools) as well as glow plugs. Do I need to replace the injector sleeves or t-stats, injector lines or high pressure injector lines, return T for injectors, fuel rail bolts etc.... The advisor at the shop suggested I change some other lines as they rust and usually break when removed. Is this the injector lines he is talking about?

Is there anything I am missing for parts. I would like to order this asap but want to be sure I have it all.

I am leaving the engine in the truck and going to do the work in my drive way. I haver some threads saved on tips etc but wondering if there is a "how to" article for both jobs that could help me along. Also where is a good place for a manual?

Sorry for the newb questions and I appreciate all your help.

C

rapidoxidationman
04-20-2012, 15:45
I did the head gaskets on my LLY back in January. The book time is about 32 hours, the book time to do the water pump is about 9 hours. The project took me about 55 hours and included the water pump. I started a thread about the project, but kinda lost steam on my posts when I started putting things back together. Search my posts for a good start.