PDA

View Full Version : New to 6.5, getting DTCs 83, 38, 44, 87

sathackr
05-18-2012, 07:02
I'm new to 6.5s and this forum. I've searched and gotten some information on these codes, but not enough to correlate them for a diagnosis. I couldn't find any info on the DTC 38 except for some references to the brake pedal switch. I'm pretty familiar with gasoline engines and have read a good bit about diesel engines and have a general concept of automatic transmissions but have no clue what a TCC Brake would be other than to infer it might be something to stop the torque converter?

DTC 44 - EGR Pulse Width Output Failure
DTC 83 - Torque Converter Clutch Solenoid Failure
DTC 38 - TCC Brake Stuck "OFF"
DTC 87 - High Ratio

I just purchased this vehicle yesterday. I will give as much history as I know.

It's a 1995 Suburban C1500. Odometer reads 395,000 miles. According to the Seller, the engine and transmission were rebuilt/replaced appx. 4,000 miles ago. The batteries were dead when I bought it, so no history codes were present. I personally know the original owner of the vehicle who said the vehicle was meticulously maintained while he owned it. The original owner spent about 8000 on the engine and transmission and put most of the 395,000 miles on it driving between South Carolina and Florida, hauling a 7,000lb loader. I assume this is the rebuild the seller was referring to. The original owner sold the vehicle "because they could never get it quite right after the rebuild". It's been through at least two other owners before I purchased it. The engine appears to have the original block but new heads and a new turbo.