PDA

View Full Version : Waste gate removel

Scout54
05-28-2012, 14:20
Hope I don't embarrass myself cause I'm new to all this diesel stuff but I'm sure someone has been here too. So here goes 2003 dura max LB7 was not building pressure or boost it was like the governer was kickin in at 40mph. Neighbor looked at the waste gate and we could not make it budge, so I popped the clip off the arm and the plate would swing freely so is the WG the upper piece with the hose at the top gone bad on me. Oh I did drive it after I unhooked it and there was a difference. Is that a part you can just replace? Thanks for the help.

DmaxMaverick
05-28-2012, 14:39
Welcome aboard! The wastegate actuator/pod is spring-loaded closed, and is forced open with intake charge air pressure. It should be firm closed at zero to before max boost, then forced open when max boost is neared. You can test it with shop air. Gradually apply up to 30 PSI to the air inlet. It should begin to "soften" around 19 PSI, and be fully engaged around 27 PSI. If the wastegate (disconnected from pod) moves freely, and the pod works, that's not your problem (almost never is). Your lack of boost is probably fuel supply related, or you have DTC's (trouble codes) limiting power (Limp Mode). If the SES lamp is on, that's a likely case. If no SES, then you may have a fuel restriction (filter, most likely), or a significant air leak. Change the fuel and air filters, make sure you have fuel in the tank (don't laugh, stranger things have happened), no leaks, and check for any DTC's.

Scout54
05-28-2012, 16:44