PDA

View Full Version : 6.2L secondary fuel filter?

Bulletbandit
03-15-2013, 21:47
I have a 1982 C20 6.2L truck that I've had for a couple of years now (my 1st experience with diesel eng). Engine and transmission both rebuilt not long before I purchased the truck. She runs great no big issues so far (knock on wood).

The only thing that really chaps my rear is changing the secondary fuel filter (under air filter on back of manifold). It's an absolute pain in my old back to reach the dang thing and I have a fear of cross threading one of the fuel lines one of these days.

I'm trying to figure out an alternative place to mount it, or some other way to make it easier to get to.

I spoke to a diesel mechanic today that suggested that it didn't need two filters and that I could just bypass it. I'm ok with that as long as it doesn't cause problems later on.

Don't want anything fancy, but if there's a way to move/replumb this thing without too much hair pulling out. It would save a lot of pain, foul language and thrown tools.

Just wondering if anybody had a fix for this or any suggestions.

Thanks Bulletbandit!

sctrailrider
03-16-2013, 02:53
I'm not sure but I think you are talking about the square box type filter...

That one should be replaced with something else, any spin on type filter & base can be fitted, try and use a 5 micron filter. You can mount the base about anywhere that is easiest for you and redo the fuel lines and your set.

Robyn
03-16-2013, 07:50
The filter you speak of is needed. The primary filter gets the large crap and the water out, the second one is the final word at clearing any fine stuff.

The cleaner the fuel, the longer the IP AND INJECTORS will last

I would say that a relocate would be in order.

Lots of good places to hang a filter.

A Racor 2 micron with a bowl would be sweet.
A 230R2 Racor is a good choice, and uses a spin on cartridge with a removable water bowl.