PDA

View Full Version : 97 6.5 with pump problems

DieselDavy
08-02-2013, 06:48
Hi guys,
My 97 Tahoe is in "intensive care" and needs some help.
I took it to a regional diesel shop (Craigville Diesel Service) (where dealers send their problem trucks) to get some pump work done. I had to trailer it there as it wouldn't start and run by the time I took it there. (They started it right up of course and got it in the shop....)
Codes are:
P0251 Pump Cam reference Pulse Error
P0370 High Resolution Circuit Fault

After these codes appeared, it slowly deteriorated to the point where it is now.
Now, I'm an electronic design engineer and I understand the technology involved here, but I'm not sure I know how to use the proper terminology as it pertains to the workings of the GM diesels, (ie. Base Timing, TDC, injection closure, etc) So in order to keep me from posting misleading info I've copied the text below from the tech (Jerod) that is working on it now. (He said this one is the most difficult 6.5 he's worked on)
Jerod asks for any ideas that any of us may have. I've passed along John (Kennedy)'s advice to concentrate on the wiring harness especially the 15 pin connector at the rear of the engine. Jerod has already spent considerable time buzzing out the harness but I too believe it is wiring related and he needs to spend some more time there.

Anyway, here is what Jerod's done so far: