PDA

View Full Version : 1996 6.5 NA won't turn

cdnewt
03-15-2014, 17:42
Howdy, I'm new here and to diesels in general. Got a 96 g30 short bus with a 6.5 n/a. Has a db2 mechanical pump and mechanical fuel pump. She won't turn over. Had a bad knock on passenger side then oil pressure drop, smoke and nothing. Wont even crank now. Gone through electronics--most comfortable area. All good more or less--one funky ground thats been holding for 4, 000 miles on block/ tranny. Obd1 key just reads the code 12 flash set.
I'm a greenhorn farmer with no access to a shop and time for engine/rebuild work only after 12 hours In the field and sundays. Could build something to work in, I.e. greenhouse converted to a shop. Looking for any pointers or advice. Local mechanics are full up with work. Also, it's been harder and harder to start for the last 3 months and oil pressure has cosistantly been off hilter. thought It was the cold. Read the gm manual, army manual and diesel page troubleshooting manual. Want to know what I'm in for. Thanks. Eat local!

a5150nut
03-15-2014, 18:07
Well welcome to TDP. Your in the right spot for 6.5 info.

Can you pull the glow plugs and try turning it over?

cdnewt
03-15-2014, 18:14
Thanks! Sure it'll take me a minute what with the van doghouse dealy. What does removing the glow plugs help resolve? Pressure? And low coolant light is on now.

cdnewt
03-15-2014, 18:47
Pulled the plugs. Just a big click from the starter and now a wee little squeel from the starter as well.

DmaxMaverick
03-15-2014, 18:53
Starter problem? Or a locked-up rotating assembly problem? Get a wrench on the balancer bolt and see if it'll turn by hand. Your description of how it quit isn't encouraging, though. I have a couple guesses, but I'll wait until you try to turn it by hand.

cdnewt
03-15-2014, 19:09
Turned with no happy adou. But it moved at least.

cdnewt
03-15-2014, 19:20