PDA

View Full Version : TDP Glossary

StephenA
07-30-2003, 20:17
Can anyone point me to a glossary or list of terms & definitions for TDP? As a newbie, as well as a novice, I read daily and with great interest many of the posts on this fabulous forum, stumbling at times with various terminology or abbreviations that are obviously well known to all but the uninitiated.
Terms like:
EGR (valve)
L56
CAT
MAP
SES (light)
FSD (cooler)
PMD (pump mounted driver)
pyrometer
PFD
IP (injection pump?)
DSG
T-stats
4L80E
XX
PCM
OHM
-To name a few...
While I may just be advertizing my stupidity, it occurred to me that if a glossary isn't to be found, and if there's enough interest, I might put together a list of all the terms & definitions with a little help from all you guys who are in the know, so to speak, which could be posted and added to for everyone on TDP. The newbies would find it helpful no doubt, and who knows, it could be useful in general. Comments?

patrick m.
07-30-2003, 21:00
any one that asks a question to gain knowledge is not stupid. we all started somewhere. I have learned a great deal in a short time. now for the acrynyms.
EGR- exhaust gas recirculation valve. used to lower combustion temps, which in turn, reduces production of NOx gasses(some states do not test for NOx from vehicle exhaust)
L56-production label code given to the "light duty" 6.5 diesel(this version uses an EGR valve for reduction of emissions, where as the L65 does not)
CAT-short for catalytic converter, an emission device used to "trap" or "catalyze" certain gasses produced from combustion.
MAP-manifold absolute pressure. measures pressure within the intake manifold. the on board computer uses the information provided by the MAP sensor to manage fuel delivery (in some cases many other sensors as well)
SES-service eng soon. this is the light that comes on when the on board computer has detected a fault within the managment system.