PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 non turbo to 6.5 turbo questions

gattlin
01-16-2016, 10:49
hi i am new to chevys as well as diesels and i have a some questions. i have a early 90's chevy 6.5 turbo diesel that was ran low on oil and sounds like a rod is knocking, i have a buddy that bought a bunch of mid to late 80's military 6.2 and 6.5 non turbo engines that i can get for very cheap. my main question is what would be the best way to get my work truck back on the road? what is needed to to convert one of the non turbo 6.5? would swaping the whole motor over be easier, or taking motor apart and swapping the shortblock? this doesnt need to be a hot rod, just a good work truck

thanks

trbankii
01-17-2016, 10:08
Easiest would be to swap longblocks and use all the components from your existing engine on the replacement.

Dvldog8793
01-17-2016, 12:07
Howdy
If you get the chance to pick through the engines....try to find one that shows evidence of the head gaskets being replaced. We did an update in the Marines when we started seeing problems. Updated head gaskets, new bolts and water pump was part of the program.
As said....replace the long block, keep all components in the truck.
Also....replace the harmonic balancer and crank pulley if the rubber looks at all rotted.
Good luck!

gattlin
01-17-2016, 18:58
so there wasnt a difference in heads between non turbo and turbo engines?

a5150nut
01-18-2016, 20:51
I believe the non turbo has small pre cups and turbo has the larger pre cups

Byron712
09-24-2016, 14:35