PDA

View Full Version : Cranks but wont start

Woolley59
08-24-2016, 07:11
I'm new to the diesel world...I have a 1996 chevy suburban k1500 with the 6.5 liter turbo diesel...I tried starting it a couple days ago and it wouldn't start so I bought new glow plugs for it and I was only able to swap out 5 out of the 8...after I swapped them out it started just fine...than I went to start it this morning and it is doing the same thing where it wants to start but won't...what should I do? Could it possibly be because I didn't change the other 3 glow plugs out since I can't get to them?

Robyn
08-24-2016, 07:34
Welcome to TDP :):)

Is this rig one you recently bought ??

Some history would help a bit :)

With the warm weather we have now you should be able to start fine with 5 plugs.

2 things are needed to start a diesel

HEAT (Glow plugs)
FUEL

Does the engine crank over fairly well ??

Slow cranking is usually a no go.

Low batteries, poor connections at grounds as well as ++ cables

Make sure batteries are in good condition and charged well.

When was the fuel filter last changed ??

A failed lift pump (mounted on the frame inside the rails about under the drivers seat) can make starting really tough.

A failed check valve in the lift pump can cause fuel drain back and tough starting.

More info please and we can move ahead.

JUST AN FYI

Changing glow plugs

Likely the ones you could not reach were cyl 4-6-8 (Right side)

Jack up the rig and block securely (In park and rear wheels blocked SAFETY YA KNOW)

Remove the right front wheel
Remove the rubber inner fender flap (With care you may save the plastic push pins/ likely new will be needed)

The nice opening over the frame will allow access to the two center plugs.
The rear most one, depending on if the truck has a non factory down pipe will need to be accessed from under the truck.

Not too hard, but you need to get comfy and then you can reach up and around the down pipe to access the rear plug/wire .