PDA

View Full Version : 6.5 vs 6.2

Acadianlion
08-14-2003, 11:07
I am thinking about buying my first GM diesel. I have a lot of experience with diesels in general, having had numberous VW diesels, and five Mercedes diesels, and basically, I am a "diesel believer". But the GM diesel is an unknown animal to me, aside from the negative things that I have heard.

Right now, I am seriously smitten with the idea of buying a vehicle that has a 6.2 litre diesel engine that had a Banks turbocharger conversion done early in life. This vehicle will be a replacement for my Ford Bronco, which is going to be sold later this month. The Bronco is very, very nice, but the heavy rear gate rules it out for my wife to handle, and we would prefer to buy a 2door Tahoe/Yukon with barn doors, but that will be a 6.5 litre, and I am all too familiar with failing fuel pumps on those engines.

So the question that I am posing to this list, is which engine, and under what circumstances can I buy one, and fee "safe" in doing so, for at least a while, before having to do things like replacing fuel pumps or crankshaft balancers?

Any comments will be most appreciated.

Oh, the use of the vehicle will be general, light personal use, with occasional light trailer towing.

Many thanks for any information you can share!

Roger

hoke
08-14-2003, 11:55
You can not compare Mercedes diesel's engines or even VW diesel's with GM diesels engines. I own & drive all 3. Engine work preformed since new. My 300 SD Mercedes 190k miles, 1 set glow plugs at 140k miles. VW 141K miles, clutch at 125K miles & 1 front wheel bearing. Chev 3500 diesel 6.5 before 125K miles, replace injectors, replace glow plugs, replace vacum pump, replace altenator, replace lift pump, replace leaking oil lines, trannie is now getting weak.