PDA

View Full Version : What have I done...

howlinwolf
02-27-2020, 20:15
Hey, newbie here, and new to this engine. I purchased a 1996 gmc k3500 with 220k miles. seems mostly ok.
things ive noticed wrong with it

slightly hard to start after sitting
stumble/die at times
gauge cluster is a mess (no tach, voltage gauge or check engine light)

other than that and the codes, it seems alright.

codes are
p0113 iac high input
p0216 injector/injection timing control circuit
p0251 injection pump fuel metering control "a"
p1810
p1860
p1870

but i like to learn and dont mind time behind the wrench

Robyn
02-28-2020, 09:28
Hello and welcome to TDP

Clear all the codes.

MAKE SURE THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND VOLTAGE TO THE MAIN BUS ARE 14 VOLTS OPERATING.

See what codes come back.

howlinwolf
02-28-2020, 09:44
Ill start with that. Thanks! I noticed its locked out overdrive, but that goes with the 1800 codes

a5150nut
02-29-2020, 08:09
Also might check and clean all your ground connections. On my 94 first thing I did was use spay cleaner on weather pac connectors and add dielectric grease to them. Never had an electrical problem for all the time I owned it 96/2013

howlinwolf
03-01-2020, 20:44
Cracked the crossover tube the other day, while making the repair, noticed a harness rubbing on the front driveshaft.

Repaired the broken wire and tied it out of the way.

Only code now is a p0216

howlinwolf
04-24-2020, 14:09
On the p0216 code, I've replaced the stepper motor.

Still here and hard to start.

The timing is showing a requested 8.6? But only getting 2.6 to 4 4 or so

DmaxMaverick
04-24-2020, 14:36
The IP is probably indexed out of range. Loosen, rotate, tighten. A little at a time. Timing can only be PCM adjusted within a narrow range.

howlinwolf
04-24-2020, 18:45
I could scream. The tensioner socket is broken. I can't drop the belt to pull the a/c and reach the pump bolts. But it looks as if the pump has been replaced.

More tomorrow I guess

DmaxMaverick